A long road | Soviet Games

A long road

Every creative product starts with an idea, a concept. The idea for “Love, Money. Rock’n’Roll”, together with the synopsis of its first in-game week, was born one chilly November evening of 2012.

It was initially conceived as a classic Japanese-like visual novel with the story focusing on the hard life of regular school kids. But with the passing of time, the future game was getting overgrown with plot peripeteias; the character personalities were taking shape, the in-story intrigues and conflicts forming. But the making of the complete product is always longer and harder. Every genre has its own hidden pitfalls, but they are not as obvious in “Realism” as, say, in Fantasy.

The weak points of such stories are usually obvious: stereotypical personalities, bad characterization, lack of back story, and just plainly illogical events. But it’s not often easy to understand (and, what’s most important, apply in practice) how to create something worthwhile. With time, it’s as if the heroines start living a life of their own — one complicated, full of colorful events, joys, and disappointments. It’s not always easy to keep track of even a single real human being, and writing a biography of several characters with inherently exaggerated traits is… Not to mention drawing the art and composing the music — can’t forget about that!

The main challenge for LMRnR’s writer was probably the need to combine these contradicting characters in a single consistent story and handle the shared amount of text needed for this. As Stephen King has said, any book has already been written. The author’s task is but to dig it out, like a dinosaur’s skeleton. Sometimes you have to dig out a tyrannosaurus and then arrange its bones so that something believable would end up appearing.

In any case, I guarantee that no metaphor can fully convey the amount of work that has been done (and how much there is still left to do) while creating LMRnR. Your support is very important for us — you can’t even imagine how important it is for us to visit the blog or a social network and see your kind words there!

The development of different parts of the game is progressing with different speed. In some areas, the essential work has almost been completed, while in others there is still much left to do.

Today we would also like to show you some new content! Stay tuned and keep an eye for more updates!

You can still support us here!

Долгая дорога | Soviet Games

Долгая дорога

Каждое произведение начинается с идеи, концепта. Идея «Любовь, Деньги, Рок-н-Ролл» вместе с синопсисом первой игровой недели родилась одним промозглым ноябрьским вечером 2012 года.

Изначально задумка была сделать классическую японскую визуальную новеллу с сюжетом про тяжёлую жизнь обычных школьников. Шло время, и будущая игра прирастала сценарными перипетиями, оформлялись характеры героев, складывались сюжетные интриги и конфликты. Однако дорога к конечному продукту всегда куда дольше и тяжелее. В каждом жанре существуют свои подводные камни, но в «реализме» они на первый взгляд, наверное, не столь очевидны, как, например, в фэнтези.

Если слабые места таких произведений зачастую очевидны: шаблонные персонажи, плохое раскрытие характеров, отсутствие предыстории и банально нелогичные события, – то не всегда просто понять (и главное, применить на практике), как сделать что-то достойное. Со временем героини как будто начинают жить собственной жизнью – сложной, полной событий, радостей и разочарований. Не всегда легко уследить даже за одним реально существующим человеком, а уж написать биографию нескольких персонажей, заведомо обладающих гипертрофированными чертами характера… А также нарисовать к ним арт и сочинить музыку – не забывайте и про это!

Основным вызовом для сценариста в ЛМР стала, пожалуй, необходимость совместить эти полярные характеры в одной цельной истории и совладать с общим объёмом текста, необходимым для этого. Как говорил Стивен Кинг, любая книга уже написана – задача автора лишь откопать её, как скелет динозавра. И иногда приходится откапывать тираннозавра, а затем складывать его кости так, чтобы получилось нечто правдоподобное.

Как бы там ни было, гарантирую, что никакие метафоры в полной мере не дадут понять, какой объём работы проделан (и какой – ещё предстоит проделать) над ЛМР. Нам очень важна ваша поддержка, вы даже не представляете, как иногда важно зайти в блог или социальную сеть и увидеть там тёплые слова!

Разработка разных частей игры идёт с разной скоростью. Если где-то основная работа уже почти выполнена, то в других местах ещё предстоит пахать и пахать.

Также сегодня мы хотим порадовать вас свежим контентом! Оставайтесь на связи и следите за обновлениями!

Нас по-прежнему можно поддержать здесь!

0